Skip To Main Content


The Steelton-Highspire School District acknowledges the crucial link between student wellness, nutrition, and their overall physical and academic development. Our dedication lies in fostering a school atmosphere that champions student well-being, encourages healthy eating habits, offers comprehensive nutrition education, and actively promotes regular physical activity as integral components of the educational journey.

The District Wellness Committee's purpose is to:

1. Provide periodic review and updates to the Superintendent regarding the committee's work.
2. Participate and assist in conducting the building wellness assessments.
3. Modify or update the District Wellness policy as needed.
4. Work with building principals, and other committees as needed for clarity, support and involvement to ensure building goals are met.


Membership for the SHSD Wellness Committee is based on School Board Policy 246 - School Wellness, which can be viewed by selecting the subpage on the left titled Board Policy 246-Student Wellness.

Steelton-Highspire School District Wellness Committee Members:

Committee Chairperson: Johanna lftikhar-Khan, District Nurse

Member: Megan Armstead, Elementary Principal

Member: Denise Galinac, Elementary Secretary

Member: Tarah Gross, High school Assistant Principal

Member: Cheryl Lehigh, District Secretary

Member: Dean Porr, District Maintenance

Member: Deb Roller, Paraprofessional

Member: Michelle Verbecken, Elementary Teacher


Please contact a member of the committee regarding any questions pertaining to student wellness initiatives. For general questions about the Wellness Committee or to take a more active role with the committee, please contact the Committee Chairperson: Johanna lftikhar-Khan, District Nurse.